Some Exotic Tropical Plants

We traveled to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica this Christmas to see my parents. Any serious photography pursuits were thwarted my 2 year old, but I did appreciate many tropical lovelies with my iPhone.

Here are some of my favorites. If you know the names please help me out!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Some Exotic Tropical Plants”

  1. Sophie Says:

    Nice pics you have here!
    The white ginger is Alpinia zerumbet ‘variegata’, the red one is Zingiber spectabile (the beehive ginger, you can see why!).
    The bizarre seed pods belong to a legume tree called Adenanthera pavonina.

  2. J-son Says:

    The palm is Cocos nucifera (coconut); the grassy thing is papyrus, Cyperus papyrus. I also see a banana and a philodendron.

Leave a Reply

