Hybrid Monkey Hand Tree, x Chiranthofremontia lenzii

When I first encountered these tree in bloom in Niles, near where I live, I was WOWED.  What on earth could it be? In a small neighborhood park there are two varieties of the tree; one orange (the crossed version, see below) the other red which is the original uncrossed version. Either way, I could not believe my luck at running into such an exotic flower.

Letters made from grasses and shadows, botanical typography!

I didn’t have to go further than my inbox to find out the name of this beauty, as a mail arrived from the San Francisco Botanical Garden that explained that their tree was in bloom now, and it was just the blooms I had been photographing. Interesting to note that it is related to the native fremontadendron.

These other flowers belong to the original uncrossed Mexican Hand Tree. What a specimen!

The pollen covered stamens of the Monkey Hand Tree

The pollen covered stamens of the Monkey Hand Tree, held in my monkey hand!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

